The Louisiana Museum of Modern Art is a self-governing institution. As a private state-recognized museum, Louisiana is subject to Danish museum legislation. The museum receives about 15% in operating support from the public sector. The rest is financed through self-earnings and sponsors.

Read Articles of Association.

The Museum Board

Lars Henrik Munch board chairman (chairman)
Dorte Mandrup-Poulsen architect (vice chairwoman)
Minik Thorleif Rosing professor
Eva Boxenbaum professor
Henrik Taudorf Lorensen CEO


The day-to-day management is handled by director Poul Erik Tøjner, who took office in 2000.

Born 1959, lic.phil in Nordic philology and former art and literature critic and cultural editor at the Danish newspaper Weekendavisen.

Poul Erik Tøjner is i.a. author of several books The museums' best pictures, Per Kirkeby - Painter and Munch in his own words and Louisiana abc.

At Louisiana he has also curated many exhibitions: Cezanne & Giacometti, Warhol After Munch, Andreas Gursky, Arctic, Peter Doig, Per Kirkeby and others.


An overview of the organization's departments, as well as the name and email address of contacts.